Another Year, Another Festival

What is SIFF? A word. What is that word SIFF? Air. A trim reckoning! — Who hath it? He that loves film. (Photo courtesy of SIFF)

The 2016 edition of the Seattle International Film Festival begins May 19 and continues through June 12, though press screenings began today. I’ve decided to do mostly tweets this year, so follow me @litdreamer for those (or check out the sidebar on this blog). Most movies I see are worth only 140 characters. Some are worth none. For the few which inspire me to paragraphs, I shall post posts here.

One thing I’m curious about is if there’ll be a tribute for Dan Ireland, one of the founders of the festival, who passed away last month. Two years ago, I saw a print of The Whole Wide World with Ireland in attendance. A beautiful film that I loved so much, I started seeking out Robert E. Howard’s Conan stories and other tales. A highlight of the 40th Film Festival, as was his short film, “Hate from a Distance” (you can read about both films here). I’m guessing the death happened too close to the festival to program a separate event, but perhaps something will be put together for Opening Night.

UPDATE: IN THE FREE GUIDE, “REMEMBERING DAN” IS SCHEDULED FOR 1:30 AT THE EGYPTIAN ON THE FINAL DAY OF THE FEST.

I’ll keep you posted, and see you at the movies!

Note: You can find the entire lineup for this year at http://www.siff.net/festival-2016/film-guide.

Leave a Reply

